Skip to main content

Fully selective state school · Westmorland and Furness

Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ admissions

September 2027 entryEvidence reviewed 24 October 2026

Current entrance requirements, dates and school facts with links to the official evidence used. Unknown information is labelled rather than estimated.

At a glance

Address
Ullswater Road, Penrith, North West, CA11 7EG
Year 7 admission
Mixed Year 7 admission
School type
Fully selective state school
Funding
State-funded
Day or boarding
Day school
Religion or denomination
GIAS records no applicable religious character.
Published admission number
160September 2027 entry
Academically selected places
160September 2027 entry
Preferences per offer
1.4DfE National Offer Day, September 2026 entry. This is not a pass probability.
Assessment provider
Future Stories Community Enterprise Ltd (FSCE)Future Stories Community Enterprise Ltd (FSCE) is verified for the linked assessment route. GIAS does not publish the current assessment provider.

Selection route

  • Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ assessment

    School-specific assessment · Future Stories Community Enterprise Ltd (FSCE) · There are three separate papers, which may be sat in any order: Adventure (about 1 hour), Beacon (about 40 minutes) and Compass (about 35 minutes). Adventure and Compass are multiple choice. The test includes both multiple-choice and written-response questions. The venue is not published; check with the school.

    All test papers are computer-marked and age-standardised. The policy requires a minimum score in every area and a minimum aggregate score; each year’s pass marks are set according to the cohort. The policy describes 32 places allocated by ranked aggregate test scores after qualifying EHCP admissions and before the oversubscription criteria for remaining places. It does not state whether EHCP admissions count within the 32 ranked places.

Eligibility
Applicants for Year 7 entry in September 2027 must register for the school's entrance test by 12 July 2026, apply through their local authority by 31 October 2026, and reach the required standard in the entrance test.
Score policy
All Year 7 applicants must reach the required standard. Separately, 32 of 160 places are awarded by ranked aggregate entrance-test scores. The policy says applicants receive scores across multiple areas and must reach a minimum in all areas combined as well as a minimum aggregate score; pass marks are set annually according to cohort performance. The policy does not name the external provider, component subjects or exact sitting date.
Oversubscription
The policy first admits applicants with a qualifying Education, Health and Care Plan naming the school. It then awards 32 places (20% of PAN) by ranked aggregate entrance-test score, before oversubscription criteria are applied to remaining places. The policy does not state whether EHCP admissions count within those 32 academic-rank places. For the remaining oversubscribed places the ordered criteria are: looked-after or previously looked-after children; current family association; up to 10 Pupil Premium or Service Premium places (excluding applicants admitted under a higher criterion); qualifying permanent children of staff; then catchment-area applicants followed by applicants from all other areas, ranked by straight-line distance to the school's OS reference point within those area categories. Equal-distance ties are decided by independent random draw; multiple-birth siblings may be admitted above PAN.
Registration
GIAS does not publish the current test registration URL.

Who gets priority

Use the admissions summary and current policy to check any priority-area rules. This page does not provide an address eligibility check for this school.

Read the admissions policy

Applications and offers over time

DfE preferences and offers at National Offer Day. A child can appear at several schools or through more than one recorded route at the same school. These figures describe past demand and do not predict an offer.

Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith: National Offer Day preferences and offers
2026Preferences227Offers158Preferences per offer1.44
2025Preferences241Offers153Preferences per offer1.58
2024Preferences231Offers158Preferences per offer1.46
2023Preferences237Offers160Preferences per offer1.48
2022Preferences271Offers159Preferences per offer1.70
2021Preferences328Offers159Preferences per offer2.06
2020Preferences256Offers159Preferences per offer1.61
2019Preferences262Offers156Preferences per offer1.68
2018Preferences258Offers149Preferences per offer1.73
2017Preferences273Offers128Preferences per offer2.13
2016Preferences244Offers128Preferences per offer1.91
2015Preferences273Offers126Preferences per offer2.17
2014Preferences196Offers120Preferences per offer1.63

School identifiers are joined across documented predecessor links. Missing and suppressed values stay unpublished. Latest dataset: September 2026 entry. Checked 2026-10-24.

What the assessment covers

GIAS does not publish the current assessed subjects.

  1. 1. Queen Elizabeth Grammar School entrance test

    The determined policy says the test is set by an external provider, names no provider or subjects, and gives scores in multiple areas plus an aggregate. Applicants must meet the required standards in all areas combined and aggregate; annual pass marks are set to the cohort. The exact test date is to be published separately and is not included here.

Key dates

Registration opens
GIAS does not publish the current registration opening date.
Registration deadline
12 July 2026
Test date
GIAS does not publish the current test dates.
Published CAF date
31 October 2026
National Offer Day
1 March 2027

Apply through the council where your child lives, even if this school is in another area. Check your home council's on-time application deadline before relying on the date shown here. Read the government's application guidance.

School assessment dates

Dates for September 2027 entry

Assessment dates
Entrance-test registration opensRouteQueen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ assessmentWhen1 May 2026
Entrance-test registration deadlineRouteQueen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ assessmentWhen12 July 2026
Entrance test (FSCE information page)RouteQueen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ assessmentWhen17 September 2026
Home local authority secondary application deadlineRouteQueen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ assessmentWhen31 October 2026
National Offer DayRouteQueen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ assessmentWhen1 March 2027

Shared assessment dates are in the 11+ dates calendar. To decide where this school goes on the application form, use the school application order planner.

Fees

Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith is a state-funded school, so there is no tuition fee for a Year 7 place. Uniform and optional activities can have separate costs. Check the Department for Education school record and the GOV.UK guide to state schools for the funding rule. The school can confirm current uniform and activity costs.

Inspection context

Inspection outcomes are maintained separately and are not present in current GIAS downloads.

Practise for this school's test

Start with the subjects confirmed in the admissions sources. Topic quizzes build skills; they are not replicas of this school's entrance test.

The assessed subjects are not verified here yet. Browse general topic quizzes and check the official admissions policy before choosing practice.

We do not currently offer a reviewed timed mock matching this school's confirmed subject mix.

Try the free diagnostic to choose what to practise next.

Sample papers

Official papers for this school's test, from the school itself or the body that runs the test, linked from the publisher's own site. Smart Cub Learning does not host copies.

Sample papers for this school
FSCE entrance test familiarisation guide for childrenPublished byQueen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith · 2026 · Familiarisation bookletSubjectsMixed subjectsAnswersno answers publishedOpens onopens on qegspenrith.education

Questions families ask

Which 11+ test does Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith use?

Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith uses Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith 11+ assessment for September 2027 entry. The route names Future Stories Community Enterprise Ltd (FSCE) as the assessment provider.

How many Year 7 places does Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith have?

Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith's published admission number is 160 for September 2027 entry.

Who is eligible to apply to Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith?

Applicants for Year 7 entry in September 2027 must register for the school's entrance test by 12 July 2026, apply through their local authority by 31 October 2026, and reach the required standard in the entrance test.

Are Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith's 2027/28 oversubscription criteria published?

The policy first admits applicants with a qualifying Education, Health and Care Plan naming the school. It then awards 32 places (20% of PAN) by ranked aggregate entrance-test score, before oversubscription criteria are applied to remaining places. The policy does not state whether EHCP admissions count within those 32 academic-rank places. For the remaining oversubscribed places the ordered criteria are: looked-after or previously looked-after children; current family association; up to 10 Pupil Premium or Service Premium places (excluding applicants admitted under a higher criterion); qualifying permanent children of staff; then catchment-area applicants followed by applicants from all other areas, ranked by straight-line distance to the school's OS reference point within those area categories. Equal-distance ties are decided by independent random draw; multiple-birth siblings may be admitted above PAN.

What subjects should a child prepare for Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith?

The exact assessed subjects for Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith are not yet published in the current evidence. The preparation links are general 11+ practice, not a claim about this school's format.

How current is the information for Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith?

Smart Cub Learning reviewed 9 attached evidence sources by 2026-10-24. Unknown facts stay labelled and should be checked again before applying.

Sources and review record

  1. Open state-funded school fields CSV

    Department for Education. Accessed 21 October 2026. GIAS register snapshot on 20 October 2026.

  2. Open state-funded school fields CSV, 24 October 2026

    Department for Education. Accessed 24 October 2026. GIAS register snapshot on 24 October 2026.

  3. ONS Postcode Directory May 2026 school-postcode centroid extract

    Office for National Statistics. Accessed 21 October 2026. ONS Postcode Directory, May 2026; candidate-school postcodes queried 21 October 2026.

  4. Admission Policy for 2027 - 2028

    Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Penrith. Accessed 23 October 2026. September 2027 entry.

  5. Admissions: Admission to Year 7 in 2027

    Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith. Accessed 24 October 2026. September 2027 entry.

  6. About the FSCE Entrance Test for Year 7 Entry

    Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith. Accessed 24 October 2026. September 2027 entry.

  7. FSCE Entrance Test for Year 7 Entry: FAQs for Prospective QEGS Parents

    Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith. Accessed 24 October 2026. September 2027 entry.

  8. Entrance Test Format 2026

    Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith. Accessed 24 October 2026. September 2027 entry.

  9. Admission Policy for 2027-2028

    Queen Elizabeth Grammar School Penrith. Accessed 24 October 2026. September 2027 entry.

Explore the verified directory

Turn the shortlist into a preparation plan

Start with a free four-subject diagnostic, then focus practice on the skills that need attention.