- Home
- 11+ preparation
- 11+ schools
- Colyton Grammar School
Fully selective state school · Devon
Colyton Grammar School 11+ admissions
September 2027 entryEvidence reviewed 24 October 2026Current entrance requirements, dates and school facts with links to the official evidence used. Unknown information is labelled rather than estimated.
At a glance
- Address
- Whitwell Lane, Colyton, South West, EX24 6HN
- Year 7 admission
- Mixed Year 7 admission
- School type
- Fully selective state school
- Funding
- State-funded
- Day or boarding
- Day school
- Religion or denomination
- GIAS records no applicable religious character.
- Published admission number
- 160September 2027 entry
- Academically selected places
- 160September 2027 entry
- Preferences per offer
- 1.4DfE National Offer Day, September 2026 entry. This is not a pass probability.
- Assessment provider
- GIAS does not publish the current assessment provider.
Selection route
- Colyton Grammar School 11+ assessment
School-specific assessment · The school's 2027 policy does not name a test provider. The Quest guidance on the school's website is for September 2028 entry, not the September 2026 test. · The 2027 policy says candidates sit the school's selection tests once in the relevant academic year and sets 12 September 2026 as the main test day. It does not state the number of papers, response format, or online versus paper delivery. It allows an evidenced catch-up session for specified serious circumstances; catch-up candidates are considered alongside the September cohort.
No fixed numeric qualifying score is published in the 2027 policy. The Admissions Committee determines an eligible score from test performance and ranks the eligible list by performance. Reaching the eligible score does not guarantee an offer; PAN is 160 and oversubscription criteria apply. The policy's total-score ranking clause is numbered within the Pupil Premium section, leaving its relationship to other eligible applicants unclear. Distance is the first score-tie break; supervised random allocation follows for equidistant addresses.
Check the official test registration page
Colyton's published September 2028 entry format
Quest and Colyton describe English and maths papers of 40 minutes each, plus a 20-minute writing paper, for the later entry cycle. Registration and test dates are still to be confirmed. These details are for September 2028 entry, not the 2026 test for September 2027 entry.
Check the Colyton and Quest 2028-entry guidance- Eligibility
- Year 6 applicants must register through Applicaa, sit the school's 11-plus selection tests, achieve an eligible score and name Colyton Grammar School on their home local authority Common Application Form.
- Score policy
- The Admissions Committee determines an eligible score from performance in the selection tests. Applicants reaching it are ranked by total test score; the policy does not publish a fixed numeric threshold.
- Registration
- GIAS does not publish the current test registration URL.
Who gets priority
No fixed catchment is set in the reviewed policy. Distance can still affect priority.
Priority order not confirmed in this guide. Looked-after and previously looked-after children come first. Next are children on the eligible list who are entitled to the Pupil Premium, including the Service Premium. Ask the school where ranking by total test score fits in the order before relying on a full summary.
For September 2027 entry. Policy checked 2026-10-23. A priority category does not guarantee an offer.
Read the admissions policyApplications and offers over time
DfE preferences and offers at National Offer Day. A child can appear at several schools or through more than one recorded route at the same school. These figures describe past demand and do not predict an offer.
| September entry | Preferences | Offers | Preferences per offer |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | Preferences228 | Offers158 | Preferences per offer1.44 |
| 2025 | Preferences233 | Offers160 | Preferences per offer1.46 |
| 2024 | Preferences214 | Offers158 | Preferences per offer1.35 |
| 2023 | Preferences231 | Offers155 | Preferences per offer1.49 |
| 2022 | Preferences235 | Offers153 | Preferences per offer1.54 |
| 2021 | Preferences347 | Offers155 | Preferences per offer2.24 |
| 2020 | Preferences239 | Offers154 | Preferences per offer1.55 |
| 2019 | Preferences239 | Offers152 | Preferences per offer1.57 |
| 2018 | Preferences241 | Offers155 | Preferences per offer1.55 |
| 2017 | Preferences231 | Offers150 | Preferences per offer1.54 |
| 2016 | Preferences196 | Offers123 | Preferences per offer1.59 |
| 2015 | Preferences176 | Offers120 | Preferences per offer1.47 |
| 2014 | Preferences175 | Offers120 | Preferences per offer1.46 |
School identifiers are joined across documented predecessor links. Missing and suppressed values stay unpublished. Latest dataset: September 2026 entry. Checked 2026-10-24.
- Compare other schools and read the method
- Department for Education: School level secondary and primary applications and offers 2026 (AppsandOffers_2026_SchoolLevel29062026.csv)
- Department for Education: Get Information about Schools all establishments CSV (edubasealldata20261001.csv)
- Department for Education: Get Information about Schools establishment links CSV (links_edubasealldata20261001.csv)
What the assessment covers
GIAS does not publish the current assessed subjects.
1. Colyton Grammar School 11+ selection test
Applicants sit the school's selection tests once in the relevant academic year. The policy does not specify test provider, subjects or paper format. It describes a catch-up session for candidates unable to sit on test day for accepted serious circumstances; catch-up candidates are considered alongside the September cohort.
Key dates
- Registration opens
- GIAS does not publish the current registration opening date.
- Registration deadline
- 31 July 2026
- Test date
- 12 September 2026
- Published CAF date
- 31 October 2026
- National Offer Day
- 1 March 2027
Apply through the council where your child lives, even if this school is in another area. Check your home council's on-time application deadline before relying on the date shown here. Read the government's application guidance.
School assessment dates
Dates for September 2027 entry
| Date | Route | When |
|---|---|---|
| School test registration deadline | RouteColyton Grammar School 11+ assessment | When31 July 2026 |
| Main 11+ selection test | RouteColyton Grammar School 11+ assessment | When12 September 2026 |
| School-published preference deadline (check your home authority) | RouteColyton Grammar School 11+ assessment | When31 October 2026 |
| National Offer Day | RouteColyton Grammar School 11+ assessment | When1 March 2027 |
Shared assessment dates are in the 11+ dates calendar. To decide where this school goes on the application form, use the school application order planner.
Fees
Colyton Grammar School is a state-funded school, so there is no tuition fee for a Year 7 place. Uniform and optional activities can have separate costs. Check the Department for Education school record and the GOV.UK guide to state schools for the funding rule. The school can confirm current uniform and activity costs.
Inspection context
Inspection outcomes are maintained separately and are not present in current GIAS downloads.
Practise for this school's test
Start with the subjects confirmed in the admissions sources. Topic quizzes build skills; they are not replicas of this school's entrance test.
The assessed subjects are not verified here yet. Browse general topic quizzes and check the official admissions policy before choosing practice.
We do not currently offer a reviewed timed mock matching this school's confirmed subject mix.
Official paper directory records
Try the free diagnostic to choose what to practise next.
Sample papers
Official papers for this school's test, from the school itself or the body that runs the test, linked from the publisher's own site. Smart Cub Learning does not host copies.
| Paper | Published by | Subjects | Answers | Opens on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quest 11+ English familiarisation booklet | Published byQuest Assessments · Familiarisation booklet | SubjectsEnglish | Answersanswers available | Opens onopens on cdn.prod.website-files.com |
| Quest 11+ maths familiarisation booklet | Published byQuest Assessments · Familiarisation booklet | SubjectsMaths | Answersanswers available | Opens onopens on cdn.prod.website-files.com |
| Quest 11+ non-verbal reasoning familiarisation booklet | Published byQuest Assessments · Familiarisation booklet | SubjectsNon-verbal reasoning | Answersanswers available | Opens onopens on cdn.prod.website-files.com |
| Quest 11+ verbal reasoning familiarisation booklet | Published byQuest Assessments · Familiarisation booklet | SubjectsVerbal reasoning | Answersanswers available | Opens onopens on cdn.prod.website-files.com |
Relevant skills and exercises
- Explore all four 11+ subjects
General 11+ preparation, not a description of your chosen school's exact test.
- Try free interactive 11+ exercises
Browse the exercise library and check the official subject list before choosing practice.
Questions families ask
Which 11+ test does Colyton Grammar School use?
Colyton Grammar School uses Colyton Grammar School 11+ assessment for September 2027 entry.
How many Year 7 places does Colyton Grammar School have?
Colyton Grammar School's published admission number is 160 for September 2027 entry.
Who is eligible to apply to Colyton Grammar School?
Year 6 applicants must register through Applicaa, sit the school's 11-plus selection tests, achieve an eligible score and name Colyton Grammar School on their home local authority Common Application Form.
Are Colyton Grammar School's 2027/28 oversubscription criteria published?
Priority order not confirmed in this guide. Looked-after and previously looked-after children come first. Next are children on the eligible list who are entitled to the Pupil Premium, including the Service Premium. Ask the school where ranking by total test score fits in the order before relying on a full summary.
What subjects should a child prepare for Colyton Grammar School?
The exact assessed subjects for Colyton Grammar School are not yet published in the current evidence. The preparation links are general 11+ practice, not a claim about this school's format.
How current is the information for Colyton Grammar School?
Smart Cub Learning reviewed 7 attached evidence sources by 2026-10-24. Unknown facts stay labelled and should be checked again before applying.
Sources and review record
- Admissions Policy Year 7 entry 2027-28
Colyton Grammar School. Accessed 23 October 2026. September 2027 entry.
- Open state-funded school fields CSV
Department for Education. Accessed 21 October 2026. GIAS register snapshot on 20 October 2026.
- Open state-funded school fields CSV, 24 October 2026
Department for Education. Accessed 24 October 2026. GIAS register snapshot on 24 October 2026.
- ONS Postcode Directory May 2026 school-postcode centroid extract
Office for National Statistics. Accessed 21 October 2026. ONS Postcode Directory, May 2026; candidate-school postcodes queried 21 October 2026.
- Admissions Policy Year 7 entry 2027-28
Colyton Grammar School. Accessed 23 October 2026. September 2027 entry.
- Admissions Policy Year 7 entry 2027-28
Colyton Grammar School. Accessed 24 October 2026. September 2027 entry.
- Joining Our School
Colyton Grammar School. Accessed 24 October 2026. September 2027 entry.
Explore the verified directory
- Schools near a town
Compare nearby state selective schools and their entrance routes.
- Applications and offers
Compare historic DfE school preferences and offers.
- Schools
Compare verified selective schools.
- Areas
Compare selective schools by area, with assessment routes shown only where verified.
- Tests and consortiums
See which schools share each assessment route.
Turn the shortlist into a preparation plan
Start with a free four-subject diagnostic, then focus practice on the skills that need attention.
